Cue the Applause

Image

Los Angeles, Ca —— Mr. Nathan Reading During Christmas Break

Yes, I know it’s not the first of the year.  But my first resolution didn’t need to start until today! Honest.

1. Get the kids to school on time

2. Photograph kids, family, travels once a month without using my iphone

3. Take a video editing class

4. Swim 2-3 times per week during Spring and Summer

5. Save at least $1500 a month

Today is the first day of school of second quarter, after a LONG three weeks off for the holidays.  I’m thrilled to be back to the routine.  But I was notoriously late 2-5 minutes nearly everyday last quarter and I refuse to let that happen anymore.  I am tired of receiving the daily automated phone call “Your child was tardy for one or more periods today…please send a letter explaining…” yada, yada.

Dear Mr. Nathan’s school, um, that would be because my tired ass is T.I.R.E.D.  Who doesn’t like sleeping!??  And why can’t his teacher just look away when she sees Mr. Nathan running to get in line outside his classroom? It’s not like he’s walking in during a lesson.  They haven’t even sat down for instruction yet. For heaven’s sake, there could have been a traffic jam or maybe he had to tie his shoe laces (they’re velcro, you say?–hmmm) or maybe he leads the secret life of a superhero and flew in from saving a cat in a tree!

I have no one to blame but myself.  There is no reason that my children should be late and if I really want Mr. Nathan to start making life-long friendships, he’s got to get there earlier enough to socialize and get the jitters out before he sits down to take over the world with his mind.

Day one down; only 249 more school days to go.  And no phone call today. Cue the applause.

_______________________________
Photo credit: Ms. Connoisseur of Life

Tell me Your Thoughts...We all Want to Know

