life remembered: a daily photo

Newton, Connecticut
12/14/2012
Sandy Hook Elementary School

Screen shot 2012-12-14 at 12.48.43 PM
Photo courtesy of the nytimes.com. Photo credit: Jessica Hill/AP

It’s photos like this that kill me. Such devastation captured in a single moment.

As a mother of two children, one that is in 1st grade, this heinous crime and tragedy is truly effecting me. I’ve been crying since word came in on this massacre. Kindergartners are dead…beautiful, innocent, truly innocent babies! I’m angry and saddened all the same time. My heart goes out the families and friends of all those who died. And maybe because its the last day of school here in Los Angeles and winter break is beginning, I can’t help but think this is no way to start Christmas.

Then the topper is seeing President Obama getting a bit emotional as he addresses the nation and the flood gates opened for me. To all those affected, from the bottom of my heart, I’m sooo sorry for your loss.

I will be holding my kids a little more tightly tonight and we will honor those lost by lighting candles for each of them.

4 thoughts on “life remembered: a daily photo

  1. I don’t like what happened to this woman, its lliterally agonizing, and I dont know how I would feel having this moment captured and shared if it my own. I do know with five children and 4 grandchildren I give thanks for mine and I send prayers to my God’s lofty throne for the parents who have to return without their “own”.

    • I do share your same sentiments Distance L and I think as parents and grandparents we understand how unthinkable this is! I do believe this photo is important part of history now and chose to share it because of its value. I can only hope that neither you nor I or anyone ever has to bear witness to such moments. Thank you for visiting and for taking the time to comment.

      • Unfortunately, we both know we live in times where these types of heinous crimes and unspeakable tragedy are common occurrence, and until the imperfection that scars humanity is removed we will continue to see them. I did not mean to criticize the historical significance of your photo. It moved me as well I’m sure many others. Perhaps now we can reflect on those things that , more times than not, we take for granted: Family

Tell me Your Thoughts...We all Want to Know

