life: a daily photo or two

Los Angeles, CA
November 22, 2012
Thanksgiving Day


“What I’m Thankful For..”

Every three years, I host the family Thanksgiving Dinner. It’s a great deal that my sister, my mother and I have agreed upon. We get to enjoy being a guest for two years without the stress of cooking for 10 and then when we’re up, we get the joys of perfecting our dishes and sharing our masterpieces (or disasters) with our loved ones.

My first Thanksgiving dinner I created was terrible. The turkey took two hours longer to cook. My mac-n-cheese was not quite al dente and half the dinner rolls burned. Everyone paced around determined to wait for the turkey finish roasting and everyone slowly turned into caged, starving animals. Everyone was so supportive regardless of the mishaps and I can honestly say I love them all even more for chowing down the less than perfect meal.

This year I made up for that disaster. From the cornbread stuffing, to the PERFECT mac-n-cheese that I named in honor of my son, to the cooked turkey, baked ham, sweet potatoes, mashed potatoes, gravy, green beans, carrots, spinach walnut cranberry salad and a few extra toasty croissants, I was on time, unstressed, well-prepared and comfortable even while under the weather. And mind you, with two little ones who still needed my attention, to be fed, to be put down for naps and played with, all while cooking. Was everything perfect? Not this time, but we’ll see in 3 years.

But at the end of the evening, everyone took turns to write down what they were grateful for and I loved all the answers. But my favorite was from Nathan: “I’m thank ful for the mak and ceez.”

And with that, I’m signing off for the weekend for some recovery time and will resume my daily photo posts on Monday! Enjoy your holiday weekend!

One thought on “life: a daily photo or two

Tell me Your Thoughts...We all Want to Know

