work life: a daily photo x 2

New York City, NY
HERE COMES THE BOOM Premiere
October 9, 2012

We call this “The Pen”. It’s the area where I check-in all the photographers covering our premieres.

“Why is it called a pen?” an intern asked.

“Because they’re animals,” I laughed. “Here are the tipsheets. Hand them out. If they give you trouble, let me know.”

And off she goes. Excited for her first red carpet event or in this case, a black carpet premiere. Ah, I remember that. How long ago did I have that bounce in my step too?

Truth the told, I’d rather be in bed, than standing for hours, dealing with main talent who won’t walk the line of photographers and trying to push along no-namers who are desperately trying to inch along the carpet to get the face time with them.

The photographers yell to get the Adam Sandler and Angelina Jolie shots they want. In this case its Kevin James and Salma Hayek. Sometimes I yell back. Sometimes, I have security throw out the crazies. Sometimes, I let the “animals” fight for their territory in the pen.

Don’t get me wrong. I love what I do for a living. There are those that see the glitz and glam of premieres on the 10 o’clock news, but premieres are all work for me. Setting up cast shots, dealing with finicky talent and their more difficult publicists. Trying to manage the pen photographers to be on their best behavior and direct our staff guy for the night to capture all our executives and filmmakers.

Because tomorrow, I’m going to get the requests for the shot taken with Justin Bieber, Selena Gomez or Julia Roberts. Yeah, talk about stress. I only have a few moments of their time before they move onto the audio/visual pen and there is NO way to bring back Tommy Lee Jones or Charlize Theron for photographers, unless you enlist the help of Meryl Streep or Will Smith. LOVE them both.

Sometimes it’s easy; like this last premiere for me for the year (wooohooooo). Sometimes its not; like at the THIS IS IT premiere at the Nokia Live in Downtown LA. Holey moley. Talk about all the crazies coming out for that one! I’d never seen so many fake credentials in my life.

Sometimes it’s worth me traveling to and from New York for three days for a 5 hour event, like for THE TOURIST or HOPE SPRINGS. When events go smoothly like SALT or EAT PRAY LOVE, I feel less useful. But you never know when you’ll need a photo gal. So I gladly travel for work, I find sitters for my kiddos and and re-arrange my life, to laugh, schmooze and play nice with the flash of cameras.

Until of course, I have to reign you in and to the back of the pen, you go. Damn animals.

Photo credit: NY Office Intern

Tell me Your Thoughts...We all Want to Know

