Who Do You Aspire to be Like?

That is the question on this March 26, 2012 in my amazing 5 year journal!  The book with an old-fashioned Q&A embossed lettering printed on the front is the only journal that I consistently write in.

Its on my desk and at one point throughout my day when I can spare 60 seconds, I read the question of the day and write my one sentence reply.  In an effort to start writing again daily, I needed an opportunity that didn’t take too long and which is completely realistic.  This journal has been it.  Some days, I hate the questions.  Other days I laugh at the ridiculousness of it.  But knowing that every year on the same day I am answering the same question the year before…I get to reminisce and see an ordinary tidbit of my day that has long been forgotten, strikes me as extraordinary.  And I’m loving it!

So today’s question: Who Do You Aspire to be Like?

Hmmm…that’s a tough one.  From a professional perspective, I’d love to be a Grace Bonney.  Who is Grace Bonney you ask?  Well, the co-founder of one of my favorite all-time blogs: Design*Sponge.  But she is not only a blogger, but now an author who has really developed her “brand” over the years.  She started in her early twenties and by my terms, is quite successful and innovative in her niche in the world!  Read her mini-bio here: http://www.designsponge.com/about

Reposted photo by Peter Yang for Bon Appetit via Design*Sponge

From a personal perspective…I aspire to be like Michelle Obama.  Even saying that, much less thinking about that actually floors me.  I am genuinely surprised by my reply to that question!  But in all seriousness, she just strikes me as this wonderfully balanced, strong, intelligent and classy woman, wife and mother.  I’m sure she has her good days and bad days.  (Don’t we all).  But she presents herself with such grace and a refreshing sense-of-humor that I think to myself, “I want to be like you, Michelle.”  Politics aside, she is what a woman should be.  Polished when she needs to be and able to roll up her sleeves and get dirty when the occasion calls for it–especially raising two children in front of millions.

Reposted from the HuffingtonPost.com

So, that’s who I aspire to be like?  How about you all?

One thing I know for sure.  This journal thing wasn’t such a bad a idea after all.  Self discovery is greatest joy!

Tell me Your Thoughts...We all Want to Know

