October Came and Went and November is Nearly Over

October flew by. Expecting my second child took up most of the month: getting the house in tip-top shape for her arrival on October 17 (born 19.5 inches long and 8 lbs 9 oz) and the last half of the month trying not to be a sleep-deprived zombie.

Emma Sofia had her first Halloween as a lady bug and watched big brother in his first kindergarten parade as a red power ranger.

20111124-071620.jpg

November brought much cooler weather and rain which southern California was in desperate need. Getting used to the nightly feeding was slowly beginning to become more routine. While tackling taking Nathan to school while perfectly timing meals with Emma was a new adventure with mad dashes on the freeway with both kids, without any makeup and bird nest hair!

And here we are, holiday music playing at every turn as Thanksgiving approaches. And although retailers are more determined than ever to take my hard-earned money, I’m truly grateful for all the blessings bestowed on me this year.

I’m grateful for my family, including my new future in-laws who have accepted me with open arms.

For the first time in my life, I have surrounded myself with amazing girlfriends who are beautiful, charismatic, intelligent, successful and driven. They are neither shallow or caddy nor frivilous. They inspire me. I’m grateful to have a career that I’ve loved for almost 10 years now and I’m still not bored. I’m grateful to have my health and most importantly for the newest addition to my family. I didn’t realize how wrong I’d been about having a second child until the doctor laid her on my chest after delivery. Any fears or concerns melted away as I stared into her open curious eyes.

I’m thankful for my partner in crime, my love, who, no matter how messy he is leaving his shoes and socks everywhere, continues to make me laugh even when I’m so tired or angry, steam comes out of my ears.

I should also mention I’m grateful for sweets. Cakes, pastries, pies, sweet breads, ice creams, etc. Seriously, warm gooey deliciousness melts my heart and calms my nerves. Life seems just a bit brighter with a slice of apple pie a’la mode.

Here’s hoping your thanksgiving is fabulous and is filled with family, friends, loved ones, lots of food and definitely something sweet.

Tell me Your Thoughts...We all Want to Know

