Summer Came and Went…

I’m nearly nine months pregnant and the heat was awful this summer.  I remember last year’s cloudy gray skies during June, July and August and wished for more heat and sun for warmer ocean swimming.

Well, be careful what you wish for.  I got the heat and sun but not so much swimming time, let alone swimming in the ocean.

As Labor Day whisked on by and is now a recent distant memory, I’m thrilled with new beginnings on the horizon.  My daughter is scheduled to arrive October 17, 2011 and my son Nathaniel starts his first day of Kindergarten tomorrow! Its almost like a  passing of the torch and the bitter-sweetness of growing up is heart breaking!

“Why are you growing, Nathan?  Stop growing. Be my little boy forever.”

“Never mommy. I want to be big and strong so I can protect my baby sister,” he says.

“You’re going to be a great big brother!”  He smiles.

But this little 5-year-old still asks to sleep in my bed.  Still asks for songs to be sung as I tuck him in at night and still wants hugs and kisses.  He’s still my little boy…maybe not forever…but for right now, I’ll savor these moments.  And in a approximately one month, I’ll have two little ones to sing to, tuck in and give plenty of hugs and kisses.

Ah…that is the best part of motherhood. The unconditional love.

Tell me Your Thoughts...We all Want to Know

