“You Are My Sunshine”

I had the sweetest moment with my son today as I put him to sleep.  Our usual bedtime routine includes a trip to the rest room to use the potty and brush his teeth.  Its followed with a story and playing a few BrainQuest flash cards.  This night he did all these things when told the first time to do them.  He didn’t sneak any toys under his pillow or ask for another drink of water.

He looked at me and said, “Will you sing me a song, mommy?”

“Ok,” I said.

“Don’t forget to turn off the light,” he replied.

I gladly turned off the light and sat next to him in bed. I sang, “You Are My Sunshine..my only sunshine…”  He sat up after my rendition was done, kissed and hugged me.  He cleared his throat several times, so his voice sounded perfect.  And then proceeded to sing to my 5.5 month pregnant belly with his sister inside.  It was the sweetest gesture.

 

After he finished he said, “I’m practicing so that when my sister wakes up in the middle of the night, I can sing her to sleep too.”  I shed a heart-touched tear.

“You are already starting to be a great big brother.”

“I know,” he replied. He smiled and dozed off.

 

Tell me Your Thoughts...We all Want to Know

